Let’s Go On A Tour

Posted: October 19, 2013 in Intro, Round The World, Travel
Tags: ,

Quit your job, load up a bag and go. It’s irresponsible, reckless and immature, or so says my Mom. Anyways, the decision has been made. I’m quitting my job, cashing in a chunk of my savings and heading to Southeast Asia for about three months. The very early stages of planning have begun. I’ll be using my Aeroplan points to fly Bangkok which is the city I will use as my starting and ending point. Why? Its a great central spot with one of the worlds busier airports with tons of major airlines to choose from. 10 years ago all Bangkok meant to me was kicking a buddy in the mid section, now it is the first chapter of an adventure with many unwritten and unplanned adventures to come. Thailand also issues a 30 day tourist visa upon arrival when entering by air. That gives a good chunk of time to see the country before having to get the hell out of Dodge and cross a border. When I cross back I will get a new 30 day visa if by air or a 15 day visa by land. It’s this reason that my plan right now is to fly back into Bangkok from Siem Reap, Cambodia. Here’s my first tip; AirAsia baby! I’m looking at around $60 USD for a one way. Yes that is taxes in.map-thailand

And yes I have a plan. I’m looking at mid February 2014 to depart from either Ottawa or Toronto and get started. The rough itinerary I’m looking at is as follows: Bangkok (Thailand)-Chiang Mai (Thailand)-Luang Prabang (Laos)-Vientiane (Laos)-Hanoi (Vietnam)-Hue (Vietnam)-Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam) (I prefer Saigon cuz I’m old school like that)-Phnom Penh (Cambodia)-Siem Reap (Cambodia)-Bangkok-Phuket-Bangkok. Of course there will be many things to do and people to see in between all these main spots. That will be the fun part, the off the beaten path spots where waking up in the morning and not knowing where I’m sleeping that evening will be the norm.  The early planning stages of something like this are the worst. Being overwhelmed by the colossal amount of info on the web, planning visas, vaccines for things I’ve only read about and estimating the costs. Forget the fact that everything about this trip is consuming almost all my waking hours. It’s exciting and nerve racking and exhilarating at the same time.

I’ll be updating the blog as much as possible, the next few months will be the not so exciting stuff leading up to what really counts. In the next post I’ll give some good tips that I’ve already learned.

Follow along and spread the word about the blog. For anyone that knows me personally you know I will probably get myself into some shit a few times and I’ll be sure to have a note pad and camera nearby so you can laugh at me and take up collections for bail.

Leave a Reply

