Getting My Cherry Popped In Bangkok

Posted: March 8, 2014 in Thailand, Travel
Tags: , , , , , ,

Bangkok is a city of paradoxes. A place where you can be the tourist and still be the traveler, where you can fall in and out of love in a matter of hours, be terrified yet thrilled,  where dreams and adventures begin and end and take new paths. It is the city you love to hate, but that’s what it does, it invades you from all directions and leaves you with strong emotions towards her. Nobody is neutral in their feelings for the city.

The Reclining Buddha At Wat Pho

The Reclining Buddha At Wat Pho

I will pick up where I left off in my last post that I wrote during my first day in the city. I ended the post by saying “Tonight comes the Bangkok after dark. Wish me luck!” Well shit. Khao San Road must be experienced, it needs to be seen, heard, tasted and smelled. The backpacker ghetto where all things Thailand begin and end for so many. I much preferred Rambuttri Road which runs parallel, it is a utopia of street food, guest houses, bars, Hare Krishnas, working girls (girl, maybe, is that a girl? Dude, that’s a dude! No way man) and all around peace and harmony between nations of the Earth. The UN should hold shop here, world peace in one weekend I’m sure. I drank and smoked shisha until the wee hours of the morning with friends and strangers from around the world. Music may be the universal language but alcohol helps get the music playing. It was a great time, it was a learning experience by jumping in the fire. Speaking to people about where they’d been, where you should go and whether that was really a dude. Despite the wicked hangover this night was absolutely epic. Needless to say the next day was a write off. I slept until late afternoon and then wandered the streets near my hotel seeking out good hangover food. It was a quiet night that was much needed even though it was my second day. Oh Bangkok!

OK. No more dicking around. Time to see the sights that are cliched yet necessary. I began bright and early with a good breakfast and did the 20 minute walk to Wat Pho to see the Reclining Buddha. It was incredible, pictures do no justice to the size. Wat Pho is a must when in Bangkok and goes in hand with the Grand Palace (Emerald Buddha) which is down the street. At Wat Pho I met a fellow Canuck who was traveling solo as well and we took in the sights of the area.

DSCF5079

The Grand Palace was on the checklist but I was underwhelmed by it. Maybe it was the mass amounts of people or the heat but it is like Alcatraz, not much need for a return trip. It was time to see something new so my new friend and I took a tuk-tuk to the BTS National Stadium skytrain station to make our way to Chatuchak, the largest market in Thailand and largest weekend market in the world. Being a Sunday we would enjoy its full potential. This maze of stalls stretches nearly 37 acres and everything under the sun can be found. It was crazy but a sight to see if you are ever in Bangkok. We ended the day with a beer at a pub that had A/C and bid farewell as our journeys were taking us in different directions. The next morning I planned to do some aimless wandering, this came to a screeching halt when a fellow I met on Rambuttri a few nights before was at breakfast at the hotel with friends. Apparently my drunken recommendation of the hotel had stuck with him. Quickly it was to the roof top patio of the hotel for some beer breakfast of champions. On such roof a new friend from Finland was found and taken for the ride despite having only arrived in BKK a few hours earlier. We made our way to the Khao San Road area to find shade, pool tables and of course beer. Our American friends got tickets to head South that evening and myself and Finlandia plotted our evening. When it was time for most of the group to get their train South I retreated to the hotel for an afternoon siesta. Back to Rambuttri once  more to kiss Bangkok goodbye. The next morning I took a tuk tuk (this involved several near death experiences) to get a third class train ticket to Ayutthaya.

There is so much more to my time in Bangkok that happened in between all this. Getting lost in Chinatown, being offered happy ending and ‘boom ‘boom, meeting countless extremely awesome people and food, food and more food!

Bangkok is whatever you want it to be. Culture, history, culinary, relaxation and hazy intoxicated fun. All roads lead here and you must go get that cherry popped.

My Tip: Experience the Khao San area. Get haggled by touts, point at pictures of food and eat it down, smoke shisha and be social. This is the place were friends will be met, some of whom you may meet again in your travels.

Leave a Reply

