Review Of The Sixty At Ayutthaya: My Accidental Find

Posted: March 12, 2014 in Travel Review
Tags: , , , ,

Ayutthaya, about a two hour train ride North from Bangkok was my first place where nothing was booked in advance. I did have some places in mind based on TripAdvisor and Lonely Planet however. Well, put a taxi driver who doesn’t speak English in the mix and any sort of planning was out the window. After arriving at the train station I made the short walk to the river to get a boat across to the main part of the city. I found a tuk-tuk driver, who judging by body language understood which guesthouse it was I was looking for. Once I was dropped of it was clear that wasn’t the case. I walked into a small courtyard and was greeted by a guesthouse called The Sixty At Ayutthaya. A young lady immediately told they had a room and would I like to see it? It was a great find. I looked in awe at my private room that included a king size bed, private bath, a wardrobe and some simple yet charming Thai decor. At 600 Baht/night it was a little more than I wanted to spend  but hell, after five nights in the chaos of Bangkok with a single bed, I had earned this shit. I booked the room for two nights and not a single regret, great location as well with Wat Manathat directly across the street, Coffee Old City Restaurant (ranked #1 of 120 on TA) was right there and there were outdoor bars and patios just a short walk.

Would I stay here again? Maybe. For 600 Baht/night I would like to a few more amenities such as free breakfast or a fridge in the room. There was complimentary coffee and a few snacks each morning though. On a whole, the room was spacious, clean, service was great, free WIFI, location was amazing and not a bad spot to meet people. This a new hotel from what I could tell but nonetheless you can find further info on TA and Lonely Planet. Booking engines such as booking.com and Agoda do feature this property.

 

Comments
  1. […] Review Of The Sixty At Ayutthaya: My Accidental Find March 12, 2014 […]

Leave a Reply

